Faculty Members // Eck Institute for Global Health // University of Notre Dame

Eck Institute for Global Health

Faculty Members

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE

Department of Biological Sciences
 

achee

Dr. Nicole Achee (website)
Research Associate Professor
Medical entomology, epidemiology, and control of arthropod-borne diseases
nachee@nd.edu
 

addiss_david

Dr. David Addiss
Adjunct Professor
daddiss1@nd.edu
 

haussamen

Lacey Ahern, MPH (website)
Associate Director of Global Health Training, EIGH
Master of Science in Global Health
lhaussam@nd.edu
 

archie

Dr. Elizabeth Archie (website)
Clare Booth Luce Associate Professor
Behavioral ecology, disease ecology, and population genetics
earchie@nd.edu
 

beidinger

Dr. Heidi Beidinger (website)
Assistant Professor
hbeiding@nd.edu

 

nora_besansky_000

Dr. Nora Besansky (website)
Professor
Genomics of African malaria vectors
nbesansk@nd.edu
 

champion_square

Dr. Patricia Champion (website)
Associate Professor
Molecular genetics of mycobacterial protein secretion and pathogenesis
pchampio@nd.edu
 

collins_000

Dr. Frank Collins (website)
George and Winifred Clark Professor
Genetics of arthropod vectors of human pathogens
frank@nd.edu
 

coyne

Philip E. Coyne, Jr., MD, MSPH
Adjunct Professor
Infectious disease medicine, retired Captain in the US Public Health Service
pcoyne@nd.edu or philip.coyne@usuhs.edu
 


 

marie_donahue

Marie Donahue (website)
Notre Dame Haiti Program Director
mcdonahue@nd.edu

 

d_souza_schorey

Dr. Crislyn D’Souza-Schorey (website)
Professor, Morris Pollard Professor; Department Chair of Biological Sciences
Cell signaling and cancer progression
cdsouzas@nd.edu
 

duffield

Dr. Giles Duffield (website)
Associate Professor
Molecular biology if circadian rhythms in mammals and mosquito vectors
gduffiel@nd.edu
 

ferdig

Dr. Michael Ferdig (website)
Professor
Genetics and genomics of drug resistance and virulence in the malaria parasite
mferdig@nd.edu
 

fraser_jr

Dr. Malcolm Fraser (website)
Rev. Julius Nieuwland, CSC Professor
Molecular biology and genetics of viruses
mfraser@nd.edu
 

fromm_gary

Dr. Gary Fromm
Adjunct Professor
gfromm1@nd.edu


 

john_grieco_1_

Dr. John Grieco (website)
Research Associate Professor; Associate Director, EIGH
Epidemiology, ecology, and transmission dynamics of vector-borne illness
jgrieco@nd.edu
 


 

haldargates

Dr. Kasturi Haldar (website)
Rev. Julius Nieuwland CSC Professor; James C. Parsons and Carrie Ann Quinn Director for Rare and Neglected Diseases
Disease pathology and developing treatments in rare and neglected diseases  khaldar@nd.edu
 

hollocher

Dr. Hope Hollocher (website)
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
Population and evolutionary genetics
hholloch@nd.edu
 

lee

Dr. Shaun Lee (website)
Associate Professor
Molecular microbiology and biosynthesis of peptide antibodies
slee24@nd.edu
 

david_leege

David M. Leege, PhD (website)
Adjunct Professor
Director of University Engagement for Catholic Relief Services
dleege1@nd.edu
 

neil_lobo

Dr. Neil Lobo (website)
Research Associate Professor
Mosquito genomics, malaria transmission and epidemiology
nlobo@nd.edu
 

Mccarthy

Brian J. McCarthy, MD, MSc
Adjunct Professor
Retired, US Public Health Service, CDC
bjm1atl@gmail.com
 

mcdowell

Dr. Mary Ann McDowell (website)
Associate Professor
Immunobiology of Leishmania infections
mmcdowe1@nd.edu
 

michael

Dr. Edwin Michael (website)
Professor
Epidemiology and population ecology of disease transmission
emichael@nd.edu
 

morales

Dr. Miguel Morales (website)
Assistant Professor
Molecular parasitology, Leishmania stress response and drug resistance
mmorale3@nd.edu
 

o_tousa

Dr. Joseph O'Tousa (website)
Professor
Photoreceptor function and process of retinal degeneration
jotousa@nd.edu
 

penney_web

Naomi Penney, PhD, MPH
Adjunct Professor
npenney@nd.edu

 

perkins2

Dr. Alex Perkins (website)
Assistant Professor
Infectious disease epidemiology and population biology
taperkins@nd.edu
 

pfrender_5

Dr. Michael Pfrender (website)
Associate Professor
Ecological genomics, adaptation in natural populations, plasticity
mpfrende@nd.edu
 

jennifer_robichaud_2_

Dr. Jennifer Robichaud (website)
Associate Professional Specialist
jrobicha@nd.edu
 

romero_severson

Dr. Jeanne Romero-Severson (website)
Professor
Quantitative and population genetics
jromeros@nd.edu
 

schafer_spotlight

Dr. Zachary Schafer (website)
Coleman Associate Professor
Cancer cell survival during metastasis
zschafe1@nd.edu
 

schorey

Dr. Jeff Schorey (website)
George B. Craig, Jr. Professor
Immunology and cell biology of mycobacterium – host cell interactions
jschorey@nd.edu
 

severson_rel

Dr. David Severson (website)
Professor
Mosquito genetics and genomics
dseverso@nd.edu
 

Zain Syed

Dr. Zainulabueddin (Zain) Syed (website)
Assistant Professor
Neuroethology and chemical ecology of arthropod vector diseases
zsyed@nd.edu

 

kathy_taylor

Dr. Katherine Taylor (website)
Associate Director and Director of Global Health Training, EIGH
Master of Science in Global Health
ktaylo12@nd.edu
 

whaley_new

Dr. Michelle Whaley (website)
Teaching Professor; Genetics and Cell Biology REU Program Director
Coordinator of Undergraduate Research Program
mmurphy6@nd.edu

Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics
 

buechler

Dr. Steven Buechler (website)
Professor; Department Chair
Bioinformatics, biostatistics, mathematical and computational biology
steve@nd.edu
 

roya_ghiaseddin_for_web

Dr. Roya Ghiaseddin (website)
Professor of the Practice, Professional Specialist
rghiased@nd.edu
 

bei_hu

Dr. Bei Hu (website)
Professor; Associate Chair
b1hu@nd.edu
 

fang_liu_for_web

Dr. Fang Liu (website)
Huisking Foundation, Inc. Associate Professor
Bayesian Modeling, missing data, clustered and correlated data, clinical trial design and anlysisi
fliu2@nd.edu
 

zhang

Dr. Yongtao Zhang (website)
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Numerical differential equations, scientific computing, mathematical and computational biology, applied partial differential equations  yzhang10@nd.edu

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
 

championsquare

Dr. Matthew Champion (website)
Research Associate Professor
Proteomics
mchampio@nd.edu
 

changsquare

Dr. Mayland Chang (website)
Research Professor; Director, Chemistry-Biochemistry-Biology Interface (CBBI) Program
Biochemistry, life processes, medicine
mchang@nd.edu
 

clarksquare

Dr. Patricia Clark (website)
Rev. John Cardinal O'Hara Professor
Protein biophysics in living cells
pclark1@nd.edu
 

goodsonsquare

Dr. Holly Goodson (website)
Professor
Biochemistry, molecular biology, bioinformatics
hgoodson@nd.edu
 

helquistsquare

Dr. Paul Helquist (website)
Professor
Synthetic Organic Chemistry
phelquis@nd.edu
 

hummonsquare

Dr. Amanda Hummon (website)
Walther Cancer Associate Professor
Proteomics of cancer cells
ahummon@nd.edu
 

liebermansquare

Dr. Marya Lieberman (website)
Professor
Surface chemistry and DNA nanotechnology
mlieberm@nd.edu
 


 

mobasherysquare

Dr. Shahriar Mobashery (website)
Navari Family Professor in Life Sciences
Bioorganic chemistry and biochemistry
mobashery@nd.edu
 

stacksquare

Dr. Sharon Stack (website)
Kleiderer-Pezold Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Director, Harper Cancer Research Institute
Sharon.Stack.11@nd.edu
 

vakulenkosquare

Dr. Sergei Vakulenko (website)
Research Professor
Mechanisms of bacterial resistance
svakulen@nd.edu

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

Center for Research Computing
 

nabrzyski

Dr. Jarek Nabrzyski (website)
Director, Center for Research Computing
Resource management in distributed systems (grids, clouds), scientific computing, multicriteria optimization and decision making  naber@nd.edu

Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
 

ardekani

Dr. Arezoo Ardekani (website)
Assistant Professor
Fluid dynamics, complex fluids, biofluids, micro/nanofluids, and multiphase flows
aardekan@nd.edu

Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
 

hsueh_chia_chang

Dr. Hsueh-Chia Chang (website)
Bayer Professor; Director of the Center for Microfluidics and Medical Diagnostics
Electrokinetic phenomena
hchang@nd.edu

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences

wei_na

Dr. Na Wei (website)
Assistant Professor
Environmental engineering and synthetic and systems biology
nwei@nd.edu
 

shrout

Dr. Joshua Shrout (website)
Associate Professor
Bacterial biofilms, cell-cell signaling, and surface motility
jshrout@nd.edu

Department of Computer Science & Engineering
 

chawla

Dr. Nitesh Chawla (website)
Frank Freimann Professor of Computer Science & Engineering; Director iCeNSA
Big data, data mining, machine learning, network science, and their applications
nchawla@nd.edu
 

emrich

Dr. Scott Emrich (website)
Research Associate Professor
Computational biology, bioinformatics, and high-performance computing
semrich@nd.edu
 

madey

Dr. Greg Madey (website)
Research Professor
Computer usage for problem solving
gmadey@nd.edu
 

milenkovic

Dr. Tijana Milenkovic (website)
Associate Professor; Director, Complex Network Labs
Complex networks and network mining; graph technology, mathematical and computational algorithms  tmilenko@nd.edu

Department of Electrical Engineering

2c41d3ce_44c6_4c31_abbe_7dcce038b3e3

Dr. Vijay Gupta (website)
Professor
Analysis and design of cyberphysical systems
Vijay.Gupta.21@nd.edu

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND LETTERS

Department of Anthropology
 

boltenbio

Dr. Catherine Bolten (website)
Associate Professor
Zoonotic disease circulation; Ethnoprimatology; Bushmeat hunting
bolten.2@nd.edu

fuentes

Dr. Agustin Fuentes (website)
Professor; Chair of Anthropology
Biological anthropology, primatology, evolution of social organisms and conservation, human-nonhuman primate interactions  afuentes@nd.edu
 

lee_lab_head_shot_copy_low_q5

Dr. Lee Gettler (website)
Assistant Professor
Biological anthropology, social neuroendocrinology, immune function and health, family systems, social networks and social support, psychosocial stress, child development 
lgettler@nd.edu

smith_oka

Dr. Vania Smith-Oka (website)
Ford Family Associate Professor
Medical anthropology, globalization & health, ethnobotany, ethnomedicine, anthropology of reproduction; Mexico  vsmithok@nd.edu

porter

Dr. Natalie Porter (website)
Assistant Professor
Multispecies anthropology and the anthropology of science, technology, and medicine
Natalie.Porter.55@nd.edu

Department of Economics

evans

Dr. William Evans (website)
Keough-Hesburgh Professor of Economics
Applied microeconomics and health
wevans1@nd.edu

Department of History
 

hamlin

Dr. Christopher Hamlin (website)
Professor of History
European History, environmental history, history of science, medicine and technology
chamlin@nd.edu

Department of Psychology
 

haeffel

Dr. Gerald Haeffel (website)
Associate Professor
Cognitive processes and products
ghaeffel@nd.edu

Department of Sociology
 

mcdonnell

Dr. Terence McDonnell (website)
Kellogg Associate Professor of Sociology
Culture and media, health and AIDS, social movements, gender and sexuality, urban studies, theology, and methods  tmcdonn2@nd.edu

Department of Theology
 

deanedrummond_2

Dr. Celia Deane-Drummond (website)
Professor
Moral theology, Christian ethics, and systematic theology
cdeanedr@nd.edu
 

mckenny

Dr. Gerald McKenny (website)
Walter Professor
Moral theology and Christian ethics
gmckenny@nd.edu

 

KEOUGH SCHOOL OF GLOBAL AFFAIRS

Screen Shot 2017 08 02 At 10

Paul Perrin (website)
Director of Monitoring & Evaluation
Initiative for Global Development
(concurrent) Associate Professor of the Practice in the Keough School of Global Affairs
pperrin@nd.edu

INITIATIVE FOR GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT
 

juan_carlos_guzman_photo

Dr. Juan Carlos Guzman (website)
Monitoring and Evaluation Director
Monitoring and measurements systems
jguzman2@nd.edu

INSTITUTE FOR LATINO STUDIES
 

richman

Karen Richman (website)
Professional Specialist; Director, Undergraduate Studies
Cultural anthropology
krichman@nd.edu

CENTER FOR DIGITAL SCHOLARSHIP
 

Sisk Matthew

Matthew Sisk (website)
Assistant Librarian
Geographic Information Systems, Ecological Modelling, Paleolithic Archaeology
msisk1@nd.edu

INDIANA UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE - SOUTH BEND

cowdendahlsquare

Dr. Karen Cowden Dahl
Assistant Professor
Gene regulation in ovarian cancer
kcowdend@iupui.edu
 

eggleson

Dr. Kathleen Eggleson
Assistant Professor
Targeted molecular strategies to combat vector-borne infectious diseases; responsible innovation with respect to environmental, health, and safety concerns; macroethics education of STEM students  keggleso@nd.edu

fox_mark

Dr. Mark Fox
Associate Dean and Director
markfox@iu.edu

 

scheel

Dr. Molly Duman Scheel (website)
Associate Professor
Genetics of nervous system development
mscheel@nd.edu
 

stahelinsquare

Dr. Robert Stahelin (website)
Associate Professor
Activation and regulation of peripheral proteis, Ebola, cancer, arthritis and diabetes
rstaheli@iupui.edu
 

vargo_gogola

Dr. Tracy Vargo-Gogola
Assistant Professor
Cancer, Rho signaling
vargo-gogola.1@nd.edu